solar above ground pool heater -Game AquaQuik Solar Above Ground Pool Heater Product Review

July 27, 2012 – 3:22 am

The Game ** AquaQuik solar heater is perfect for your above ground pool. This is a great economic unit heater which provides comparable results as heating units other. Video Rating: 4 / 5

** Link to how to build the system switch: www.youtube.com This is the solar heater which I reviewed and built. Very easy to put together and the whole setup cost less than $ 130! My ‘52 21 “high pool has gone from a steady 68 to 70 degrees 80 ‘high in the mid 90s! Now you can heat your pool for next to nothing with this configuration.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Twitter
  • Print
  • Facebook
  • RSS
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Blogplay
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks
  • PDF
  • Tumblr
  • Technorati
  • Suggest to Techmeme via Twitter
  • StumbleUpon

  1. 18 Responses to “solar above ground pool heater -Game AquaQuik Solar Above Ground Pool Heater Product Review”

  2. Unfortunately there is no getting away from the science of solar. The compact nature of this product ensures that its not a viable heater for pools. The products ability to harness energy is directly proportional to the amount of solar collector area available. Most of the “traditional” pools solar heaters are actually 40sq ft of collector area, this unit is approx a 1/4 of that…this means folks that when comparing a product like this on price multiply by a minimum of 4. NOT A GOOD BUY!

    By TheSolarmann on Jul 27, 2012

  3. While the coil is in the sun, I keep my red valve (water to coil) at full open and I keep my blue valve (return to pool) at 50% or the valve handle at a 45 degree angle. This way I get the hot water mixing all day. My pool temp drops 3 to 5 degrees over night but with consecutive hot days, the temp goes a little higher every day. I hope this helps and feel free to contact me anytime.

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  4. Thanks, I had to prime it, but it’s been a week of extremely hot weather and I can’t get my pool temp. above 76. The coils are in the sun for at least 8-10 hours a day. Unfortunately my pool only gets a couple hours of sun. What would be the best way to keep the valves? Or do you have any other suggestions.

    By helmet2268 on Jul 27, 2012

  5. 1 word awsome….tnx for sharing i will build mines asap.been looking and you have my answer great..

    By AYNAMAOK on Jul 27, 2012

  6. You could also try “priming” your coil by using a garden hose. I will use the house hold water pressure to force the water through.

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  7. How long did you wait for the water to come out? I know with my setup it took almost 15 minutes for the water to start going through.

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  8. I have 2 /400 foot long coils (1/2 inch)  on top of my roof using a 1.5 hp hayward pool motor. When close the main valve (larger) and force water out of the smaller hose nothing comes out. Do you have any suggestions?

    By helmet2268 on Jul 27, 2012

  9. The tubing just has to be in the sun, Some people choose the roof, some people choose on top of a shed and some just have it on the ground. It is up to you as long as you coil (accumulator) is in the sun.

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  10. Great video. In your setup do you believe it would it be possible to run the tubing down the house and flat on the ground or do you need it to hang from the roof (i.e. using gravity to assist the pump’s action). I ask as I have small kids who will probably try to ‘play tarzan’ on the hanging tubing :)

    By GITMachine on Jul 27, 2012

  11. Thank you and happy to share!

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  12. Oops, I also empty the coil and cap both ends in the fall when the pool season is over in October.

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  13. I have my coil going around my plumbing exhaust pipe. The coil is so wide and the weight evenly distributed that it does not move. We get wind gusts sometimes up to almost 100 km/h and it has never budged an inch. It is only when the coil is empty that it moves a little (closing the system for winter)

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  14. I did leave the coil on the roof all winter. All I did in the spring was reseat the coil properly as some of it overlapped during the ice thaw. I also cleaned out the leaves from in between the coil. Thanks for the compliment!

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  15. Hey great job! The best solar heater I’ve seen on youtube .thanks for the info.Do you keep the tubing up on the roof in winter?

    By bigoud123 on Jul 27, 2012

  16. Thanks for getting back to me. The part about this that makes me leary is the tubing on the roof. My roof is steeper than yours and I am not sure how I would secure it to the roof.

    By sleighbor on Jul 27, 2012

  17. I bought 800 feet of 1/2 inch flexible tubing.

    By ellebalderaj on Jul 27, 2012

  18. Hi, This is fantastic. Thanks for sharing! Can you please tell me what tubing you bought? Thank you.

    By sleighbor on Jul 27, 2012

  19. Looks great! thank you for the information.

    By PostApocalypticMedia on Jul 27, 2012

Post a Comment